Metre Monday – “A Monster’s Lament”

8 Oct

I am home in the bayou, I revel in the muck,

But it’s silent, and no one can hear me cry.

I’m just a B-grade monster with some awful luck

And some dreams that float up higher than the sky.

 

The putrid mud and algae are my dearest friends,

I love the bubbling vapour’s pop and hiss.

But I wonder: Is this it? Will this never end?

There has to be some more to life than this!

 

I long to hear children’s voices laughing on air,

And more – though I know this is all folly.

I yearn for the sight of a woman’s golden hair,

And my first very own ice cream trolley.

 

Ah, the music will play, the sunshine will beam,

The kiddies will all scamper and race!

I scream, you scream, we’re all screaming for ICE CREAM!

Instead of in horror at my hideous face.

 

I am here in the bayou, and I shriek and I moan

But it’s silent, and no one can hear me sing.

I have love in my heart, but I will stay alone,

Because nobody wants ice cream from a Swamp Thing.

Leave a Reply

